Closing Convocation 2020

June 3, 2020

The Madeira community joined together virtually on Tuesday, June 2nd, to celebrate the successful completion of the 2019-2020 school year. 

At Closing Convocation, community members celebrated achievements by faculty, staff, and students, and bid farewell to the Class of 2020.

After remarks from Head of School Pilar Cabeza de Vaca, the student government leadership for 2020-2021 was installed.  

Madeira’s incoming student leaders are:
Class of 2021 Co-Class Presidents: Olivia Carnot & Katherine Moe
Head of Boarding: Alexa Ekhelar ‘21
Head of Day: Gaby Waksberg ‘21
Head of Judiciary: Laila White ‘21
Co-Heads Community Service: Grace Thomas ’21 & Amanda Oliver’22
Co-Heads of Diversity and Inclusion/Student Diversity Board: Salimah Hagmagid ’21 & Alex Lawler ‘22

The Peddle Community Service Award was presented to Ms. Stacy Tippens, Educational Technology Specialist.

This year’s PINK Award was presented to Heston Friedrichs ‘21 for her work creating a video game to help those struggling with mental health issues.

“I am extremely honored and grateful to receive such an award. Ever since freshman year, this PINK award has symbolized the encouragement of passion, specifically fit for Madeira girls,” said Heston. “Katherine Kies created an opportunity to help not only her community but create an impact on girls' lives. I want to provide support for people struggling with mental health and use my abilities through technology to create such support. This award will allow me to develop 'impact gaming' through a video game on the struggles of mental health. I am extremely honored and grateful.”

The award, which stands for “Passion, INitiative, and Knowledge,” was established by Katherine Kies ’07 to help hardworking Madeira girls pursue a goal. Upon graduating from Madeira, Kies pursued a career in the hospitality industry. She went to the Cornell School of Hotel Administration. When she won the Drown Prize Award, the top honor at the Cornell School of Hotel Administration, she decided to give part of that award back to Madeira in appreciation for the Co-Curriculum experience that led her to her major and subsequently this award.

In unveiling this year’s yearbook, the editors shared the dedication, chosen by the students, to Madeira Safety and Security Officer, Ms. Elaine Gamble.

In addition to the awards given out at Closing Convocation, the following athletic awards were given out at our last Community Meeting:

Katherine Meyer Graham Tennis Award: Liya Savasman ‘20
Dorothy Lee Hayden Award JV Athlete Award: Olivia Carnot ‘21
Kitty Stearns Buckman Varsity Athlete Award: Annie Newton ‘20
Athlete of the Year: Grace Frerichs ‘20
11 Varsity Letter Club members: Annie Newton, Lily Rathbun, Grace Frerichs

Finally, the School paid tribute to retiring Head of School, Pilar Cabeza de Vaca, with a video highlighting her illustrious ten years of extraordinary service and immeasurable contributions to Madeira.

You can view Closing Convocation here