Closing Convocation 2017

June 5, 2017

The Madeira community joined together on Tuesday, May 30, 2017 to celebrate the successful completion of another school year. 

At Closing Convocation, community members celebrate achievements by faculty and staff, students, and say goodbye to those leaving Madeira. 

After remarks from Head of School Pilar Cabeza de Vaca, the student government leadership for 2017-2018 was announced.  

Madeira’s incoming student leaders are:

  • Class Co-Presidents: Maddie Bennett ‘18 and Star Cruz ‘18
  • Co-Heads of Community Service: Karina Atkins ‘18 and Vanessa Saenz ‘18
  • Head of Boarding: Yaje Nshanji ‘18
  • Head of Day: Catherine Daly ‘18
  • Head of Judiciary Lisa Oguike ‘18 

The Pink award was presented by Mr. Andre Withers and was given to Kalyna White ‘18 for her project involving the creation of a fundraiser for underprivileged children and orphans in the Ukraine.

Next came the Master Teacher awards, which were presented by Ms. M.A. Mahoney. The recipients were:

  • Mr. Tulio Campus (The Priscilla Payne Hurd II ‘38 Master Teacher)
  • Ms. Sasha Newman (The Ella West Freeman Foundation Master Teacher)
  • Ms. Jean Wright (The Estate of Lee Butler, PP’51, ‘56 Master Teacher) 

The Peddle Community Service Award, presented by staff members Becca Brooks, Sheila Reilly, Nicole Cologne, and Jeff Dayton, was awarded to Ms. Tracie Epes.

This year’s yearbook dedication, chosen by the students, was given to Ms. Isabel Macias.

After the presentation of awards, there was a special performance by Madeira Glee and Ms. Stacie Steinke of “Dear Madeira,” an original song composed by Lily Moriarty ‘17 and Zoe Crawley ‘18.

Following Closing Convocation, students received their yearbooks and enjoyed the traditional strawberries and cream. 

Student Life