Annual Madeira equestrian awards

May 20, 2015

Friday, May 15, 2015 participants in the Madeira equestrian program gathered in the Chapel/Auditorium foyer to celebrate another successful year. Friends of the program and family members were in attendance. Seniors Hanna Powers, Julia Mandel, Sara Cyrway, and Caroline Simmons were recognized for their many contributions to the program and awards were presented to recipients. View photos from the event, courtesy of Paul Powers.

Annual Madeira Horse Show Awards

Donated and presented by Jean Schwartz, a long-time friend and supporter of the program.

Best Turnout
Lizz Isacson ’18

High Score Madeira Rider
Emma Knisley ’18

Sportsmanship Award
Julia Mandel ’15

Perpetual Trophies

Gay Byron Trophy - Underclassman MVP
Ally Edwards ’18

Deidre Symington Trophy - Upperclassman MVP
Hanna Powers ’15

Susan’s Trophy - Most Improved
Niki Fifield ’17

Ann Swift Cronin Trophy - Most Dedicated Rider
Karina Atkins ’18

Riding Sportsmanship Trophy
Claire Womack ’16

Mr. Peeper’s Award - The Best School Horse
ALDEN presented by Nancy Dillon ’72, owner of Mr. Peepers

Also recognized at the banquet were co-captains Hanna Powers, Mollie Thomas, and Julia Mandel for their hard work and leadership.

Coaches and riders extend their gratitude to all the parents for their support and help this year. A special thanks to Leslie and Paul Powers, parents of Hanna, for organizing the award dinner, Rachel Cordom, parent of Alexandra ’18, for providing incredible table center pieces, and Melodie Thomas, parent of Mollie, for the wonderful equestrian themed cake.

Riding Athletics