2019-2020 student government announced

May 13, 2019

The election results are in! The Madeira student government and class officers have been named for the 2019-2020 school year. 

The student government is voted in by all grade levels after an All School Meeting where candidates state their case to represent the school the following year. The following week, the class meetings are held, speeches are given, and voting occurs grade-by-grade. Freshman student leaders will be elected early in the fall.

The following is the student leadership for grades 10 through 12 for next school year:

Student Government:
Head of Boarding:  Lyric Thornton ‘20
Head of Day: Gigi Jacobsen ‘20
Head of Judiciary: A’Nya Harrison ‘20
Co-Heads Community Service: Priya Batra ’20 & Grace Thomas ‘21

Red Team Captains: Kaitlyn Alsina ’21 & Ruva Kiara ‘21
White Team Captains: Lily Rathbun ’20 & MJ Bailey ‘21

Student Welcoming and Weekly Activities Group: 
SWWAG Activity Representatives: Sydney Gu ’21 and Carolyn Keen ’21
SWWAG Ambassadors: Amy Xie ‘20 and Betty Xu ’21

Student Diversity Board Co-Heads: Tarina Ahuja ’20 & Salimah Hagmagid ‘21

Boarding Committee by Dorm:
East Resident Assistants: Eliza Cart ‘20 & Luna Qiu ‘21
Main Resident Assistants: Olivia Carnot ‘21 & Alexa Ekhelar ‘21
New Resident Assistants: Fiona Ireland ‘20 & Chloe Zeng ‘21
North Resident Assistants: Kaitlin Britton-Wheeler ‘20 & Emily Bell ‘21
South Resident Assistants:  Savannah Robinson ‘20 & Sarah Abara ‘21
West Resident Assistants: Laila White ‘21 & Ina Zhang ‘21

Class Officers:
Class of 2020: Grace Morgan & Annie Newton
Class of 2021: Avery Tyrrell & Rachel Rubin
Class of 2022: Chi Hoang & Moniola Odunsi

Onboard STAR: Taylor Miller ‘22Event STARs: Chloe Plaschka ‘22, Renn Guard ‘22, Saira Vyas ‘22