2014-2015 student government announced

May 16, 2014

The elections results are in! The Madeira student government and class officers have been named for the 2014-2015 school year. Dean of Students Kim Newsome announced the full list of winners on May 12 after the class officers were elected.

The student government is voted in by all grade levels after an All School Meeting where candidates state their case to represent the school the following year. The following week, the class meetings are held, where speeches are given and voting occurs grade-by-grade. Freshman student leaders will be elected early in the fall.

The following is the student leadership for grades 10 through 12 for next school year:

Student Government

  • Head of Boarding: Chi Mpundu
  • Head of Day: Zharia O’Neal
  • Head of Judiciary: Leah Zeng
  • Co-Heads of Community Service: Sukrana Uddin and Dara Summey

Class Presidents (each class has co-presidents):

  • Class of 2015: Ramsey Aldrich and Cate Fischer
  • Class of 2016: Meagan Lane and Carson Peters 
  • Class of 2017: Sahana Bhagat and Kelly Nguyen

What some of the new leaders had to say:

“I’m technically a boarder from Sydney, but before my family moved there we lived in Alexandria. Because of this I know what it’s like to be both a local boarder and an international one and can relate and represent both aspects.” - Chi Mpundo (from her ASM speech as a head of boarding candidate)

"I am ecstatic to be a member of student government my senior year, and I look forward to serving the Madeira community and beyond along with Sukrana and the other heads of school. We have a lot of events and projects in store that will take Madeira community service to the next level!"  - Dara Summey, co-head of community service

“I'm really excited to see how proactive community service will be able to be with the new module schedule!” – Sukrana Uddin, co-head of community service

Leadership Student Life